Alex Ferguson Retires As Manchester United Manager After 27 Years

08/05/2013 11:45

image
Sir Alex Ferguson, who has announced his retirement, celebrates with the Premier League title. He has 13 in all. According to Guardian reports, Sir Alex Ferguson will retire as Manchester United manager at the end of the season in the 27th year of a tenure that has made him the most successful in British football.
While he will become a United director and ambassador, the executive are now charged with having to appoint the successor to a man who has won 13 league titles, two Champions Leagues, the Cup Winners' Cup, five FA Cups and four League Cups. In February, Ed Woodward, the incoming chief executive, said there was plan in place for when the Scot did step down.
Regarding his decision, Ferguson said: "The decision to retire is one that I have thought a great deal about and one that I have not taken lightly. It is the right time. It was important to me to leave an organisation in the strongest possible shape and I believe I have done so. The quality of this league winning squad, and the balance of ages within it, bodes well for continued success at the highest level whilst the structure of the youth set-up will ensure that the long- term future of the club remains a bright one."
"As for my players and staff, past and present, I would like to thank them all for a staggering level of professional conduct and dedication that has helped to deliver so many memorable triumphs. Without their contribution the history of this great club would not be as rich. In my early years, the backing of the board, and Sir Bobby Charlton in particular, gave me the confidence and time to build a football club, rather than just a football team." he added.
He also thanked Man-U fans: “To the fans, thank you. The support you have provided over the years has been truly humbling. It has been an honour and an enormous privilege to have had the opportunity to lead your club and I have treasured my time as manager of Manchester United."

COMMENTS:

No comments found.

New comment

 

Sim Back Up Device

Price: N2500 only

More Info

 

BUY!

 

.
.
..
.