Rio Ferdinand Quits International Soccer

15/05/2013 15:36

image
England's Rio Ferdinand has quit international soccer, says the country's Football Association.
The decision, in a statement on the United and Football Association websites, came nearly two years after Ferdinand last played for his country in a Euro 2012 qualifier against Switzerland on June 4 2011.
The FA said the central defender, who made his England senior debut against Cameroon at Wembley in 1997 and won 81 caps, had informed England coach Roy Hodgson of his decision.
"After a great deal of thought, I have decided the time is right for me to retire from international football," the player declared. "At the age of 34, I feel it is right for me to stand aside and let the younger players come through, which allows me to concentrate on my club career."

Share

Read More Stories


Leave Your Comment Below-

COMMENTS:

No comments found.

New comment

 

Sim Back Up Device

Price: N2500 only

More Info

 

BUY!

 

.
.
..
.